On their latest release, James, Red Molly delivers an eclectic, exciting mix of cover songs by well-known writers (Nanci Griffith, Steve Goodman, Bob Wills, Darrell Scott, etc.), originals, and songs by up-and-coming writers (Jonathan Byrd, Anthony da Costa). The "Mollies" opted to self-produce this album, with talented engineer Mark Dann at the reins. Recording with a drummer (Ben Wittman) for the first time, but keeping the Red Molly signature sound, the ladies delve into some darker material, yet balance it with some hopeful, playful songs. Fred Gillen Jr. sings a beautiful duet on "Gulf Coast Highway" and Herb Gardner (Abbie's father) adds his stride piano chops to "The End of The Line", a Texas swing standard. The venerable Mike Weatherly is back on upright bass, and Jake Armerding guests on fiddle and mandolin, and lends his songwriting talent, on "Falling In". Abbie wrote two songs for the record ("Jezebel" and "Troubled Mind"), and plays lap steel on a couple of tracks. On James, Red Molly has beautifully captured what their fans love about the band: dark and heart-wrenching one moment, fun and uplifting the next.

Clean Clean

Clean Clean

Artist Name
00:00 / 00:00