The New Wave of British Heavy Metal era was a golden age in British music. Bands like Iron Maiden, Saxon, Def Leppard, Tygers of Pan Tang, Diamond Head and Samson ruled the world.

We grew up with these guys, they taught us to play, they taught us to write music.

MORPHEUS RISING takes all the best bits of NWoBHM - twin guitars and soaring vocals; adds a splash of extra ingredients such as the darker edge of Goth bands like The Cult and The Mission; the raw energy of Classic Rock icons like Led Zeppelin and AC/DC; plus just a twist of more melodic acts such as Marillion and Magnum. We are The Next Generation... NWoBHM-TNG!!

All the best,

Grae, Pete, Daymo, Andy & Gibbo
...resurrecting British Heavy Metal!

Latest News

New UK tour dates announced!

Nationwide support and headline dates throughtout April and May!

MORPHEUS RISING (2008 - Present)

Morpheus Rising are five musicians from York, UK who met in early 2008 to discuss the first steps of what is quickly becoming a powerhouse of rock...

The brainchild of guitarist Pete Harwood who spent years working on the project, MORPHEUS RISING spent most of 2008 writing and rehearsing material before playing towards the end of the year.

They released their first single, An Ordinary Man, in aid of the charity HELP for HEROES in October 2008. The single was a marked departure from the rock material the band are known fir, but the bare acoustic style of the track matched both the lyrical content and the reason for the song. This was received well by public and critics alike receiving world wide radio airplay on national and internet radio.

On Boxing Day 2008 Morpheus Rising released their first commercial release in the form of The Original Demos 2008. This EP showcased the powerful style of NWoBHM which the band have embraced as their signature sound. Twin guitars, soaring vocals and powerful rhythms combine to take the genre forward... the next generation of NWoBHM! The EP is currently available from iTunes, Rhapsody and Napster.

Morpheus Rising are:

Vocals: Grae Tennick
Guitars: Pete Harwood
Guitars: Daymo Sweeting
Bass: Andy Smith
Drums: Paul (Gibbo) Gibbons

More information and exclusive content can be found at

  • Member Since: 2009
Clean Clean

Clean Clean

Artist Name
00:00 / 00:00